I’ve started this blog for one simple reason, to document my travels as I pursue American Airlines Executive Platinum status. Today, I am a Gold member, which has allowed me to sit in Main Cabin Extra (MCE) on nearly every flight I have taken this year. It has also given me the ability to fly standby on similar flights. Standby is incredibly useful when flying to cities with multiple flights a day as it allows you book the later, less expensive flight, and get on the flight scheduled right after work.

I’m currently based in Chicago and have chosen to purse AA status, as it’s the most valuable frequent flyer program out there. With the US Airways merger there are a lot of unknowns and its possible that the System Wide Upgrades and complimentary domestic upgrades will become less valuable, but hopefully that is something I will find out in January 2016.

